DEV Community

Cover image for Quick way to serve static files with Netlify (100GB free)
Mathew Chan
Mathew Chan

Posted on

Quick way to serve static files with Netlify (100GB free)

Needed to publish a website and serve a few GB of images and audio data. Here are my findings and what I ended up doing.

Free Options

There are storage and bandwidth limits on many common sites. Bandwidth limit is how many times users can access your files per month.

  • Github Pages (1GB limit)
  • Bitbucket Cloud (2GB limit)
  • Qovery (10GB limit)
  • Cloudinary (25GB storage and 25GB bandwidth/month)
  • Vercel (100GB storage and 100GB bandwidth)
  • Netlify (100GB storage and 100GB bandwidth)

Paid options

  • AWS S3
  • Google Cloud Storage
  • Digital Ocean Block Storage

These storage options (especially for fast CDN serving) can run up to $20/month for just 10-20GB of data.

Netlify & Vercel

Both Netlify & Vercel offer 10 GB of free storage and 10GB of bandwidth/month. I already use Vercel, but I since I have to use github or bitbucket to upload my files I would still hit the storage limits of the repository platforms.

Netlify Large Media

For Netlify, there is a Large Media to use Git LFS to basically upload the files to Netlify and put pointer files on your Github repository.

After hours of tinkering I still couldn't upload files to Netlify and the workflow was awful.

Netlify sync with Publii

Surfing the Internet I found a desktop website builder called Publii that can sync to Netlify.

image

It was super easy to set up and after setting up the API key, I just need to press the Sync button to upload all my media files in the media folder of the preset template.

image

There is no version management because git is not setup but I prefer this workflow just to serve my jpg and mp3 files. Obviously there are ways to upload my files through Netlify CLI but this app just makes it much easier to set up.

Top comments (0)