DEV Community

Cover image for The most important project in the world: Intro
 Mat Kwa
Mat Kwa

Posted on • Updated on

The most important project in the world: Intro

Where to start when writing about something unwieldy? That's always the most difficult part for me. I guess this time I start... when things got serious.

Forgive me, if I have to jump around in time later on and bear with me... if you will... until this series of articles eventually leads to some lines of code worthy of a developer platform... I promise it does.

For now I have three neatly coded repos of React and Express code flying around, which together constitute a fully fledged Vanilla React multi-store Flux app with hybrid microservices backend which handles authentication including mail service. That's just the start, it gets much better later on.

All I have worked on for months I will open source here on Dev.to first. It can help jump-start the development of any React based Web app I believe. I would have been happy to have access to this resource many times before at least... but again please be patient about the code. I hope we will get there in Hacktober still.

Also, if this article catches your attention then please do me a favour and follow me. I have free soloed this project for too long already. Now, I am looking for help: Code review, constructive criticism, debugging, documentation, testing... or even a little support in the form of a like or follow.

So, here we go:

For me, things got serious in late 2022, around the time of the FTX crash. I had been intrigued by the decentralisation aspect of the Bitcoin for a while already back then... never invested in it, but I really, really liked the idea because for as long as I can think I really, really hated financial institutions. At this time I had just finished the prototype of a javascript based blockchain protocol. All I needed was some time to code this out properly.

But then Sam Bankman-Fuckyou pulled off his heist and the future of the Web3 as such seemed to be in danger and with it any chance of getting my project financed. So I did the only thing I could think of to do, I started writing about the benefits of crypto:

https://blog.blockmagnates.com/rien-ne-va-plus-c00733f88127

This one is my personal favourite of the web3 article series I wrote at the time. It got published (for the follow-up I got unpublished again :-)), more importantly it got the attention of Ted Blackmon. That's the guy who was responsible for the VR of the Mars Rover mission, he has a stellar track record in digital twin tech and his own VC for capital projects... read jackpot big money. It's a big boost in confidence when you get invited to pitch to former NASA mission control and I made it a round further with a pitch deck to solve a global problem with my tech and an ask of no less than 10 million dollars US.

When you play the game on this level as a free agent, you enter a somewhat schizophrenic half-world. You never get a straight reason why you arent chosen, communication simply stops. If I understood the hints correctly, it was due to some sexist criticism about the German government I publicly issued on facebook before (and subsequently had long deleted... ^^).

I'm a sexist from conviction. Most women aren't as good as men in most manly things... and vice versa. Being defense minister is certainly one of them. That's a simple truth any amount of goodwill cannot change. Among other things, women are granted the gift to bear children and I for one, much prefer the company of women over that of men. In my eyes, it's much more ridiculous to say men and women are equal, than to say they are not.

I have no hard feelings because of this episode. At the same time, I think men should always be able to openly speak the truth, even if it's unpleasant, so Ted is not in my LinkedIn contact list anymore. I removed such a caliber from my business network, dumb and proud, huh?

Anyway, what I have learnt from this is, that if you roar loud enough, you will be heard. Even if you aren't a popular guy... even if you just have a dozen followers on a platform and not thousands or millions. The truth has a beautiful quality to it, that it resonates with the right people, indiscriminate of who voices it.

And that gives me hope for the future. I hope that it's going to be "Best man for the job" again and no longer "Everybody must be equal and nobody is allowed to speak the truth". That's at least what my project is all about. In times of fake news, hate speech and cancel culture, and on the dystopian path the central banks currently draft for us, I belive it isn't only going to be an innovative solution to decentral data storage, I believe it is the most important project in the world. What it's exactly all about? For that, you will have to wait for my next article.

Cheers, and don't forget to follow me.

Mat Kwa

Top comments (0)