DEV Community

Cover image for One Year of Weekly Posts
Matti Bar-Zeev
Matti Bar-Zeev

Posted on

One Year of Weekly Posts

This week’s post is special :)

It marks one year since I started publishing technical posts on a weekly basis on dev.to.
Every Friday, over the last 52 weeks, I shared with you the ups and downs of my tech path. Not just handing off the final result, but writing as I go, putting you in the passenger seat next to me, as I ride through web technologies and development methodologies.

The previous milestone I mentioned in a post was “20 weeks of consistent blogging”, in which I wrote about my process, challenges, benefits and achievements of sharing my learning process with you. About the point in time where it started to become more of a habit than a chore.

The starting point post was “Converting a React component to TypeScript” which was published on Oct 8th, 2021. There and then I decided I would like to pursue this goal, of weekly sharing my journey.
I’ve been writing and publishing technical blogs for a long (long…) time, but this is the first time I took such a commitment upon myself, and I won’t tell you lies, sometimes writing a blog post describing a “battle” with some technology I was not familiar with up until that point is not the first thing you think of doing on a Friday morning (a vacation day where I come from).

There is no consistent theme over the posts, though most of them are focused around the Frontend side of things. I’m writing about what interests or occupies me at the moment.
What keeps me going, aside from the fact that it encourage me to learn and extend my comfort zone (notice I didn't say “get out of my comfort zone” - there is a painful difference), are comments like this one:

Image description

I’m a great believer that knowledge is true only when shared, and if I have the opportunity to share the things I learn and, by that, help others (or save them “hours and hours of research”) I’d be a fool not to take it.

knowledge is true only when shared

What does the future hold?
As long as I find new technologies which interest me, as long as I find better and simpler ways of doing stuff, as long as sharing the path I take excites me I will keep on publishing these posts.

So… ready for the next round? Here we go :)


Be sure to drop and say hi @mattibarzeev and feel free to leave your comments below 🍻

Photo by Tevin Trinh on Unsplash

Top comments (0)