DEV Community

Cover image for Telescope code reviews
Francesco Menghi
Francesco Menghi

Posted on

Telescope code reviews

While working on a new feature for telescope, I got involved in reviewing code from other students.

The first PR I reviewed was for the issue:

"Customize the dashboard so it looks like it belongs to Telescope"

This was a fun PR to review, I like what Suhhee did to customize the layout. I offered some suggestions on what to fix and/or improve.
Once this PR gets merged, the dashboard will look more like it belongs to Telescope.


The second PR I reviewed was for the issue:

"Show Posts count on status dashboard"

At first I had problems testing it locally since some steps were necessary to make it work but the instructions were not present in the PR description. Fortunately Hung posted the instructions and I was all set for the review.

I wrote some suggestions, while other reviewer wrote theirs and we went back and forth for some time. I also made use of the Gitpod integration to test in the cloud and it was a good experience (expect it's too slow when launching compared to my local setup).


Time consuming!

I can't believe how much time it takes to review pull requests. There must be some time management secrets that only repo maintainers know about.

Despite this, I found it great to see how other people approach solving a problem. I am also getting used to check for GitHub notifications throughout the day to make sure I am not missing something important.

Top comments (0)