DEV Community

Micke Lisinge
Micke Lisinge

Posted on

NeoVIM register resetting upon start

I've had this super annoying issue in NeoVIM where my registers always gets reset to gibberish when i start NeoVIM. This will in turn fill my MacOS clipboard with the same gibberish.

This was especially annoying when switching to a newly opened NeoVIM instance aftere copying something i needed in said NeoVIM instance.

I did a bunch of Googling to see if i could find someone else with the same issue to no avail.

When trying to fix another issue i had with my NeoVIM i managed to fix this issue at the same time! Hooray!

TLDR;

If your NeoVIM always has the same registers when starting up you have a issue with your ShaDa temp files. It's easily fixed by removing the ShaDa directory rm -rf ~/.local/share/nvim/shada

Top comments (0)