DEV Community

MightySpaceman
MightySpaceman

Posted on

Should I learn C++ instead of C?

I've mainly done stuff with python and more recently C because I like the low level parts of programming. I've been enjoying C, however I have found that many peices of source code use C++ instead of C, and it can be hard to get backwards compatibility when compiling. On top of that there's also the supported libraries. Seeing as it's practically identical to C but with more features, and anything that works in C does in C++, why shouldn't I just use the latter? There's a lot of stigma around C++ but why should I have to deal with the issues that come with adding an object-oriented workflow to the original language when I don't have to use it?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
pauljlucas profile image
Paul J. Lucas

If you want to learn either, you really should learn both. There's still a lot of libraries that have C APIs only, e.g., OpenSSL.