DEV Community

Mike Mai
Mike Mai

Posted on • Updated on

Setting content max-width in 2021

Y'all are familiar with something like this in your code:

<body>
  <div class="wrapper">...</div>
</body>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

By having a wrapper, you limit the content on your site to not exceed a certain width (e.g. 1000px). The CSS for the wrapper usually looks like this:

.wrapper {
  max-width: 1000px;
  margin-left: auto;
  margin-right: auto;
  padding-left: 2rem;
  padding-right: 2rem;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

That has certain limitations, the most glaring one being that you cannot use background color or background image on this element due to the width being set (usually you'd work around this by setting background on <body> or nest the wrapper inside another full-width element with background). And honestly, that is so much CSS for something that is kind of trivial.

We are in 2021, and CSS is very powerful. I can actually change the max-width to something more fluid:

.wrapper {
  max-width: min(80vw, 75ch);
  ...
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Awesome! Now my content feels pretty damn comfortable to read in all viewports (it is 80% wide but does not go beyond 75 characters). However, that is not enough. It is still TOO MUCH CSS.

I think I am gonna reduce it to 1 CSS var and 2 lines of padding rules:

:root {
  --page-padding-x: calc((100vw - min(80vw, 75ch)) / 2);
}

.section {
  padding-right: var(--page-padding-x);
  padding-left: var(--page-padding-x);
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Hell yeah! That is more like it. It achieves the same goal of setting a max-width but now I can even use background color or background image without needing to write extra markup.

This element has evolved and I am renaming it to section. I can basically create multiple sections on a page with this and I can give my content some fancy zebra striping if I so desire:

<body>
  <div class="section black">...</div>
  <div class="section white">...</div>
  <div class="section black">...</div>
  <div class="section white">...</div>
</body>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

As for the CSS var, I can use that on header and footer as well. Woot!

Goodbye, wrapper. I will not miss ya.

EDIT: demo codepen.

EDIT 2: browser support for min()

Top comments (0)