DEV Community

mikkergimenez
mikkergimenez

Posted on

Why I'm fed up with Agile (but not really)

I've noticed this is a click-baity title, which is the point of this post.

Do most modern software engineers know anything different? I interviewed at a software company some time ago, and they asked "have you ever worked in an agile software environment". And I was so surprised to hear the question that it almost came across as a red flag to me.

I'm probably biased by the types of companies I've worked for, but I think many modern software engineers don't have an intuitive understanding of Agile, because we don't have an intuitive understanding of what it is being compared to. I would imagine the only types of places really doing waterfall development are government and government contractors. Maybe we need a new paradigm or a different way of talking about the problem. Maybe we need a set of measurements by which we talk about software development project management.

What are the different axis by which we talk about software development project management?

Top comments (0)