DEV Community

 Milena Martinez Caceres
Milena Martinez Caceres

Posted on

Portfolio Feedback

Hi all I’m a recent graduate Web developer and I just finished building my portfolio. Could you please check it out and give me your feedback? 👩🏻‍💻
Thanks in advance ☺️

Portfolio

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
dotethan profile image
Ethan Strauss

Love the portfolio! Great aesthetic and images.

Suggestions: You might want to think about making it a single page as each of your individual pages are actually quite short. If they were all on the front page under each other, it would make it very easy for HR representatives to browse through quickly. Making them click links for each page just makes it less likely they will.

You're "Work Together" button on the front page only works if you click on the words themselves, not on the button. Likely your is only around the words, but it should affect the whole button.

The About Me page, between the image and the text box could probably use a little more "white space"

Your latest projects page is nice, but I'd include a picture before hovering, you might also want to look at a different "Hover" behaviour as the resizing of each project bumps the project beneath it down and causes the whole page to adjust. A bit distracting. A slight increase in size on hover and then maybe if you click it opens a modal overtop of the page to show the details? Not sure, just the size adjustment creates discordance.

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres

Thank you so much for your feedback and all your ideas I agree with the effect on the cards I will try to implement something that way 😊. Also I’m just learning gatsby and I wanted to take advantage of lots of features that is why the multiple page I was thinking maybe build another portfolio in one single page and put it as a project or something 🤷🏻‍♀️ Still thinking about it. Thank you for taking your time looking at my portfolio ☺️

Collapse
 
nicolasomar profile image
Nicolás Omar González Passerino

Hi Milena! I appreciate the work done in your porfolio, I think you have done a good job mantaining it minimalistic and focusing on the main fields, also I love the included art, it gives personality.
If I can make some comments from my view, I will work on the fonts for parts like paragraphs, the navigation items and buttons.
At last, I belive a good way to mention your tech stack on your projects and the "About Me" section is adding the icons, it can give more impact at first glance to the people who will look into.

I appreciate the fact you asking for feedback, you have made an awsome job there.

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres

Thank you so much for your feedback ! I just finishing doing some work on the website change a little bit the illustrations ( crash course in Adobe I came really helpful) and applied some of the feedback received thank you so much for your time 😊

Collapse
 
tinspham209 profile image
Tín Phạm • Edited

Contact page maybe is unnecessary. Just put anchor link to your email or phone number on About page.
set Container max-width is in 1200-1280px.
add some of your soft skills
Skills: divide it into 2 tabs: Technical Skills & Soft Skills.
+Technical Skills:

  • Programming Language: JS, HTML/CSS,...
  • Client-side: React,...
  • Server-side: NodeJS,...
  • Database: MongoDB,...
  • Soft Skills: Problem Solving,...

Latest Project: update it with an image, what how your project looks like

On Mobile Device:
About page isn't good
The texts on the navigation bar are too small

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres • Edited

Hi thank you so much for your feedback 😊, for the latest projects I have a gif image running when the user hover over it but maybe is not that straight forward any ideas I could I make it more visible ? And thanks you so much for your suggestions again

Collapse
 
alvarosabu profile image
Alvaro Saburido

Hi Milena, my first feedback is that your branding design and the look-n-feel is very professional and better that most of the developers I know.

That being said, you have some minor issues with typography being to big on mobile and fixed height of cards for your projects being overflowed, the rest looks amazing

Tell me, you main goal is get a job trough your page or having something HR can look within a hiring process?

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres

Hi Alvaro thanks for your feedback I will get into the issues with the font right now 😊 I want To be in a hiring process. I know a single page may be more convenient but I wanted to learn Gatsby while building the page I’m think in a second portfolio with a single page. thanks for taking your time ☺️

Collapse
 
tylerben profile image
Ben Tyler

Looks great overall! Love the minimalism.

On the project cards I noticed that the "Campgrounds" link does not take me to the app but instead just opens up the projects page in a new tab. This might just be a me issue but also think that the project cards could benefit from a button or more obvious link to the featured project website. Took me a sec to realize that that is what the website icon is for.

Lastly, I think the active item in the navbar could benefit from an additional style or two to indicate that it is active vs just keying off of font size. Maybe a bottom border?

Great work!

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres

Thank you for your feedback ☺️I will try to look on that 🏃🏻‍♀️

Collapse
 
lesleylai profile image
Lesley Lai • Edited

Hi, Milena. Nice portfolio! It is a lot more stylish than mine :-). And I am really impressed with your portrait.

The color contrast for the nav menu text is low (on Desktop), so you probably want to make the text darker. You can use some audit websites to check your contrast. On mobile devices, the text in menu themselves are too small and they are too tightly packed.

For projects, you should have some text descriptions for each. It is hard to convince people to click your GitHub link if they are not already interested. I put a few paragraphs for each project of my portfolio. Also, your "expanding card" animation is a bit distracting IMO (especially since it shifts the alignment of the nearby cards), so consider making it a bit more lightweight.

I think you should keep your contact page. Some people use a web email client and it is annoying for them to open some websites in order to contact you.

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres

Thanks for your feedback I did some changes now 😊

Collapse
 
_hs_ profile image
HS

Looks good. I actually love simplicity it points to good UX and design skills.

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres

Thanks for your feedback ☺️

Collapse
 
neatcoder profile image
Neat Coder

Awesome Portfolio @Milena !!! 👏 👏 👏
Nice UI and SVGs!

btw , can u support my yt channel at youtube.com/channel/UC_x91mqbyHX4-... 🙏🙏

Collapse
 
milenamar profile image
Milena Martinez Caceres

Thanks for your feedback ☺️