DEV Community

Cover image for Boot.dev vs Codecademy from newbie perspective
mlem_dev
mlem_dev

Posted on

Boot.dev vs Codecademy from newbie perspective

Hi :)

I've been hanging around coding for a while now and after 4 years in the IT industry I can proudly say that I still have no idea what I am doing when it comes to coding.

Thankfully each year there is more and more online resources, that are really enjoyable to me. I really don't like videos or textbooks, they are either making me fall asleep (books), or make me do nothing and just passively stare at a screen (videos).

Online platforms like codecademy, boot.dev, kodekloud etc. are my go to resource for my education, especially nowadays, where I'm trying to go from IT Admin/Helpdesk role, to something that is more connected with back-end development, it's neat.

As a long-time codecademy user I welcomed boot.dev with a warm embrace. My ADHD loves to try new stuff and boot.dev is special in a way that is hard to put into words.

It's fun.

Also, ThePrimegen likes it.

When I'm learning on boot.dev, I feel like I'm on a journey. Like it's something that will be both enjoyable and educational. The "fun" part is what's missing in codecademy in my opinion.
Codecademy is still leading when it comes to the variety of the educational material, but it lacks something that makes me go and do the coding after 10 hours of work.

I believe, that with the passage of time, boot.dev will be a go to platform for everyone that wants to kickstart their journey in software development and do it while still enjoying those moments.

If you are still not sure what to pics - give boot.dev a try, you won't regret it.

Thank you Lane & The Team for creating such a fantastic platform!

Not sponsored btw. I wish it was LoL

Top comments (0)