DEV Community

Michael Brackett
Michael Brackett

Posted on

OSD600 - 1

Introduction
Hi, my name is Michael Brackett. I started programming when I was in grade 10 and have been loving it ever since. I found OSD600 very interesting while researching what my potential pro topics were going to be, what really intrigued me was the Hacktoberfest portion of the course. I got interested in Open Source when I was looking into chess engines and researching about Stockfish which made me realize that all the code is free and can be seen by anyone for this project. Looking at the repository right now there is an issue that I think I can do. Hopefully, it doesn't get taken before I really get into Open Source development!

Where are you
I'm currently located in the GTA

Hopes
I'm hoping to contribute to projects, learn more about open source programming, and learn a new programming language. I don't really have a preference for which projects I work on as long as I'm learning and it's fun. If I had to pick one I'd say my first choice is the previously mentioned Stockfish repository.

Github Fork
The project that I forked is the Ciphey repository. I chose to fork this repo because I think that encryption is a key technology that is currently being used and will become even more important as time goes on. Seeing something that is light weight and can decrypt fairly fast which is accessible to anyone is incredible.

Top comments (0)