DEV Community

Moataz Burhan
Moataz Burhan

Posted on

100DaysOfCode — Day 01

Alt Text

Here is my progress in my 100DaysOfCode challenge:

The plan is to build a micro-services project in GoLang using Doctor and Kubernetes. Until today I am open to suggestions about what the project is going to be. I am leaning toward building a website that allows the users to shorten their long links.

Here is what I accomplished in day one:

I picked a name for the project, Grunderound. In the book, Unbirthday by Liz Braswell, Grunderound is a place of nonsense in Wonderland. When I asked my daughter for name suggestions, she suggested this name from the book she is reading. It is a place where you look for secrets, “you grunder around looking for the right wrong”, explains the Mad Hatter in the book.

I created a repository for the project in my github space. Honestly this is my first side project that I plan to work on it seriously. The repository is almost empty currently: https://github.com/MoatazBurhan/Grunderound

I struggled a little when choosing the type of license to use. Maybe it is too early to make a decision about that. I do not know. I am always foggy in this area. I felt like I should either use MIT or GNU GPL V3. After reading about the differences in https://choosealicense.com/ I ended up choosing MIT. Please comment with your opinion if your think this is not the best choice.

I started thinking about the project layout. Note that I am new to all the technologies I am using in this project (Go, Docker, and Kubernetes). So I do not really know what I am doing. I started reading Jin Feng’s suggestions in Go Microservice with Clean Architecture: Application Layout. I will continue on this tomorrow.

End of day 1 of 100DaysOfCode.

Top comments (0)