DEV Community

K Montgomery
K Montgomery

Posted on

Getting railed by ruby

Finally made it through my ruby and ruby on rails curriculum and I have a lot of thoughts on the backend framework. First and foremost: writing out CRUD is so incredibly quick and easy. Just a simple

    def create
        user = User.create!(user_params)
        render json: user, status: :created
    end

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

(with different variables and params, obviously) will get you a super quick way to write out a way to store new data as you continue through your project. I began learning coding in Java and JavaScript like most devs and I always wondered why certain actions were so convoluted and I just wanted to start learning ruby/ruby on rails to see if programming would always lead me to want to put my head through a monitor. While each and every language and framework has its own benefits and setbacks I personally feel like ruby reads a lot more modern AND does a lot of work for you. Which personally, the less I have to type the better.

All in all, Ruby and Ruby on rails is such a lightweight framework that pulls heavy weight work in a way that is incredibly easy to understand, build out, and manipulate into exactly what you want done. Along with super easy integration with JavaScript, Ruby and rails helps make complex websites that run quickly and smoothly.

One of the main benefits I've noticed about Ruby as a whole is absolutely the fact that when you have an error, it'll freak out on you and tell you exactly where things went wrong and HOW to fix it. Makes debugging and finding that stray comma a thousand times easier.

All in all every language and framework has their own benefits and drawbacks and I really feel like I have only started chipping away at the tip of the iceberg in really understanding what I as a newer developer can do.

Top comments (0)