DEV Community

K Montgomery
K Montgomery

Posted on

"Comments are useless and your should not use them" I Strongly Disagree

As a beginner developer. Sometimes it can be extremely difficult to find your way through your code. You know what you're doing but you don't know how you got there or where you're going. Trust me I have the same problem. My instructor has been blessing us with encouragement to not only write comments... but to write a TON of them. Comments are such a useful tool when you're first getting started so you can write yourself steps out piece by piece before you even lay out your code so you can really go through the motions of understanding deliverables.

I've only been programming for a few weeks now and when I first started I never used to write comments because I feared my code looked messy but in reality... It helped my code look cleaner and more professional in the long run because I knew where to start and where to go. The best part is... is at the end of the day. I doesn't matter how "messy" the code looks while you're writing it as long as the final product looks nice! I don't know why so early on I was stressed about having my code look perfectly clean cut and professional level. But I'm glad I've gotten over that hump in my learning.

Comments have truly been a life saver for me in writing my own code but I think they should be implemented in every collaborative project to ever grace the internet because without them you can get lost in one another's code when merging files towards the end of the project. Having a list anyone can see of what you were doing and where things are supposed to go can make things so much smoother and at the end of the day the comments don't effect your code beyond line by line aesthetics and code will still run even if it's ugly.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
mephi profile image
mephi

When I started programming, I made a comment on everything. I used my comments as notes about the extremely small amount of code I produced, it was very useful to me. But the most people around me didn't get.