DEV Community

Cover image for CSS: Refresh, revitalize
Sarah St. Timmerman
Sarah St. Timmerman

Posted on

CSS: Refresh, revitalize

Coding bootcamp was a great experience for me. I learned a lot in a very short amount of time. A twelve week crash course on all things Web Dev. But bootcamps are just that, fast, furious and intense. No matter how good the program, there's no way to retain all the information at such a breakneck speed.

My next step as a junior web developer is going back over the information that I learned, refreshing and revitalizing it to sharpen my skills. I'm going through the CSS courses on freecodecamp.com and in the next few blog posts I'm going to be explaining some of things I am learning for the first time as well as the things I needed to refresher on. Hopefully it will help you as well.

Back to basics:

I've been dabbling with BEM and Tailwind, but for some reason I had forgotten that in basic CSS you can give things two separate class names simply by adding a space. I do have a tendency to get ahead of myself sometimes, so I really shouldn't be so surprised.

We definitely talked about padding, margin and border, and I've been manipulating them. I'll be honest though, I did need to remind myself the differences between padding and margin. Padding is the space around the element, as if your element buddy was wearing a fluffy marshmallow jacket. Margin is the space between that element, other elements and the border of the element it is contained in. For examples sake, we'll have at least a six foot distance between each element for proper social distancing.

Negative margins were completely new to me. I created my entire portfolio website by hand writing my CSS but I did not know about this. Changing a margin to a negative number makes the element larger. Neat!

Hope this helps! Until next time, folks!

Top comments (0)