DEV Community

Pawel Kadluczka
Pawel Kadluczka

Posted on

Tab Garbage Collector

I am very good at opening new Chrome tabs but not as great at closing them. Very often, I open a tab and forget about it and to open a new one. As a result, I always end up with a lot of duplicate tabs that only take my precious tab space. At the same time I feel anxious whenever I think about closing a tabs. To “solve” my problem I created a simple Chrome extension – Tab Garbage Collector – that finds duplicate tabs and let me close them with just one click. I know that this is not only my problem so I published my extension in the Chrome Web Store so that anyone can use it.

Here is a short video showing the extension in action:

If you are interested what’s under the hood, the code is available on github.

Top comments (0)