DEV Community

Cover image for An Open Letter to JavaScript
Danish Saleem
Danish Saleem

Posted on

An Open Letter to JavaScript

Dear JavaScript,

I hope this letter finds you in good health and spirits. I'm writing to you to express my mixed feelings about our relationship.

You see, JavaScript, you are a very powerful and versatile language. You can run on any browser, on any device, on any platform. You can do amazing things with the web, with data, with graphics, with games, with AI, and more. You have a huge and vibrant community of developers who love you and create awesome libraries and frameworks for you.

But JavaScript, you also have some quirks that make me scratch my head and wonder what you were thinking. You have a weird type system that sometimes makes no sense. You have a confusing syntax that sometimes makes me write bugs. You have a strange scoping and hoisting mechanism that sometimes makes me lose track of variables. You have a quirky coercion and equality system that sometimes makes me question your logic. You have a callback hell and a promise hell that sometimes make me want to scream.

JavaScript, you are a language of paradoxes. You are simple yet complex, elegant yet messy, expressive yet cryptic, flexible yet rigid, forgiving yet unforgiving. You are a language that I love and hate at the same time.

So JavaScript, I guess what I'm trying to say is that I appreciate you for what you are, but I also wish you could be better. I hope you don't take this letter the wrong way. I'm not trying to break up with you or anything. I just want to share my honest feelings with you.

Please don't change too much or too fast. Please don't break my code or my heart. Please don't make me regret choosing you or staying with you.

Please just be yourself, JavaScript. The good, the bad, and the ugly.

Sincerely,

Your faithful (but frustrated) developer


NOTE: If you found this helpful. Like and share. Thanks, Happy Learning!

Let's connect đź’ś

You can follow me on Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn & GitHub

Support Me

If you like this post. Kindly support me by Buying Me a Coffee

Top comments (0)