DEV Community

Paul Bennett
Paul Bennett

Posted on

Rebuild your static site automatically with Contentful web hooks and Netlify

I finally got Contentful to work. It took a bit of tweaking here and there, as I am still new to React and GraphQL, I got there in the end though.

I was clicking through my site, making sure all the posts were working as intended. I had to re-publish a post as I was having issues with images in markdown files. But my site never started a build phase within Netlfiy after I re-published the post. Whaaaaaat?!!. Why wasn't this working?

After some Googling, it seemed I needed something called a webhook. I have seen the word webhook mentioned many times, but was never too sure what they did. So I also googled that:

A webhook in web development is a method of augmenting or altering the behavior of a web page, or web application, with custom callbacks.

Makes sense. How could I get a webook to build my site in Netlify once I published or un-published a blog post? Luckily Contentful has some good docs...

Update your environment variables within Netlify

netlify-link-to-git.8f403b2067

For more information on how to configure a static site for continuous deployment, refer to the guide on the Netlify documentation.

Configuring a Netlify build hook

netlify-build-hooks.601518971e

It's as simple as clicking Add build hook, giving it a memorable name, and choosing the branch you'd like to build. Netlify will then do some magic and create a HTTPS URL, which will then respond to a POST request by trigging your build and deploying it when you publish or unpublish new content.

Copy the url, which will look something like this: https://api.netlify.com/build_hooks/<someString> and then use Contentfuls Netlify webhook template to configure the webook quickly.

webhook-template-netlify.6cd8664d25

Easy as that...this post was created in Contentful, which trigged my webhook, which built and deployed my site with this new post.

Images: from Contentful

Top comments (0)