DEV Community

Matt Shirlaw
Matt Shirlaw

Posted on • Updated on

UI/UX design for engineers

Like many other software engineers who work in web development, I feel quite comfortable writing JavaScript and have lots of experience with frameworks such as Angular or React but I'd love to brush up on my user interface design and CSS skills.

This seems to be a common theme amongst engineers so I thought it would be good to share resources aimed at those who don't have formal training in UI/UX design. Have you found anything worth sharing recently?

To kick it off I'll start with some resources that I have come across thanks mostly to browsing twitter & especially Sarah Drasner who has an amazing amount of content on her personal site, github & codepen 🙏🙏🙏🙏

I'll keep it updated as I come across new content from time to time:

Resources 🔗

Books 📚

DEV articles 📖

DEV users 💻


Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rr9853462 profile image
Rima Sharma

I just read your blog post on UI/UX design for engineers and I found it to be very helpful. It's definitely given me some ideas for how I can make my own engineering projects more user-friendly. Thanks for the great post!

Collapse
 
mshirlaw profile image
Matt Shirlaw

Awesome thank you 🙏