DEV Community

Miklós Szeles
Miklós Szeles

Posted on • Originally published at mszeles.com on

Selenium JavaScript Python C#, Cypress, TestCafe, Playwright, Squish selector generation has been added to Selenideium

Image description
Awesome news!

The new version of Selenideium Element Inspector can be downloaded from the Chrome web store.

So let's have a look, what are the new features

  • Automatically generating complete copy-pastable line of code for the following frameworks :

  • Selenium JavaScript

  • Selenium Python

  • Selenium C#

  • Cypress

  • TestCafe

  • Playwright

  • Squish

and of course also for

  • Selenide
  • Selenium Java

  • Provide an option to select the testing frameworks for which selectors will be generated

Download Selenideium Element Inspector v2.0, and have fun.

Please leave a review in case you find the plugin useful!

Buy me a coffee in case you save time by using Selenideium Element Inspector!😊

As usual, we will continue with the implementation details.

Refactor again

In case you had a look at the code, you could see we still have some duplication, so it is time to get rid of that.

As my plan is to add support for many testing frameworks, it makes sense in case I create a common class for them. Before we do that, I have replaced variable declaration vars with lets inspired by this article.

So let's create SelectorGenerator class:

Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Let's create the Selenide specific subclass: Selenide Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Create the Selenium Java-specific class: Selenium Java Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

And as a final step, let's refactor content.js to use the new classes: Content.js After Being Refactored To Use The Selector Classes JavaScript

And that's it. It is very important to keep your codebase clean with frequent refactoring.

I wanted to separate the classes into their own JavaScript files, but as I am new to JavaScript I miserably failed with that. After a few hours, I gave up. I constantly got the following error: > SyntaxError: Cannot use import statement outside a module I tried to specify "type": "module", exporting, importing classes in different ways, but I could not solve it. If you could help me, that would be awesome.

Let's start feature development

Adding Selenium Python support

It is so easy to add support for any testing framework:

Selenium Python Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Adding Selenium C# support

Selenium CSharp Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Adding Selenium JavaScript support

Selenium JavaScript Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Adding Cypress support So let's see how we can add Cypress support:Cypress Selector Generator Class Cypress Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Adding Playwright support Adding Playwright is as easy as adding any other framework support: Playwright Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Adding Squish and TestCafe support I was talking with my colleagues from the company and I found out they are using Squish and TestCafe, so it was no question whether I will implement them or not.

Squish Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

Adding TestCafe: TestCafe Selector Generator Class JavaScript Source Code

And that's it. We have added support for all testing frameworks planned for Selenideum Element Inspector v2.0. In case I missed your favourite framework, just create a ticket on GitHub, and I will implement it as soon as I can. 😊

After this, a few hours of debugging came. For some unknown reason, one selector for each framework appeared as "undefined". I filled the code with logs and also debugged the code without any success.

In the end, I refactored storing the selector into its own method, so I can log the stack trace in case I get an undefined value: Store Selector Method Source Code

In the end, I found out I accidentally stored the return value of one of the generator functions which stores the selectors and it has no return value.

Let's do something more interesting to close this article

Configuring for which framework to generate selectors

As we have added Selenide, Selenium Java, Selenium Python, Selenium C#, Selenium JavaScript, Cypress, TestCafe and Playwright support we are logging too many selectors unnecessarily. In order to avoid that, let's make the frameworks selectable.

There are 3 steps we have to do:

  • Create an options page and add checkboxes for the frameworks to the UI
  • Store and load settings in chrome storage
  • Log selectors only for the selected frameworksCreate an options page and add checkboxes for the frameworks to the UI

Create an options page and add checkboxes for the frameworks to the UI

This is easy, here is the options.html: Adding Configuration Options To Log Selectors Only For The Selected Frameworks HTML Code

We also need a small CSS file options.css: CSS File For Options HTML Page

Store and load settings in chrome storage

Well, this is tricky part number 1. It took me hours of trial and error and googling and also some help from my colleague Zsolt Ilonca to solve this. We did not really became friends with the assynchronity of JavaScript. To be honest, I am pretty sure the code could be much simpler, so please do not hesitate to share your improvement suggestions with me. 🙏

Basically what we are doing is restoring the settings from Chrome local storage on the DOMContentLoaded event and we are adding click event listeners for the inputs, based on which we update the local settings.

This is the options.js file: Options JavaScript file

Let's continue with the last step.

Log selectors only for the selected frameworks

Here again, Javascript async/await tricked me so it again took me a few hours to implement this. Here is the relevant part of the content.js code: Content.js Log Selectors Only For The Selected Frameworks JavaScript

Aaaand we are done. It is time to submit the plugin into the Chrome Web Store and to wait a few days to be accepted, then I will immediately post this article. 😊

Download the plugin: Selenideium Element Inspector.

P.S.: Thanks for sharing the article. 👍

📚 Join the Selenide community on LinkedIn! ✌

Buy me a coffee!

Top comments (0)