DEV Community

Muhimen
Muhimen

Posted on • Updated on

Nevertheless, "THEY" Coded

Hi, I am Saykat, 16 years old boy growing up in a somewhat reputed area in Bangladesh. Today, I am not gonna share a story about me not about her, but about them, more specifically our female society.

If you say you are great then you aren't. If others say you are great then you are truly great.

In our country, our parents in a rural area or poor illiterate parents prefer having boy children to the girl. Their logic behind is simple. "Boy children will grow up and can go out and make some money. On the other hand, girl children will grow up and go to the husband's house and won't help us financially." This little blame every girl in our country gets is carried with them as the time passes by.

When it is up to educating children, our rural parents send their boy children to school first and most of the time never look back to the girls. Their logic is again simple. "Why should we spend on girls when they will not give us anything in return?" Thanks to our Government epic step "Free books to all, scholarships for the poor and girl students" the enrollment rate in primary education has jumped quite rapidly. Our primary education rate has increased from 61.3% to 97.5%. But the case in higher study is different. Among all the students only 23% of girl students receive higher education. But the case for literate and concerned parents are different. They send both their girl and boy children to school.

After receiving an education, It's about joining work. But sadly, most of our girl students can not finish education because they are forced to marry some old person. But those who are lucky to get good parents or those who are determined for reaching their target can finish their education properly. But the work sector is another name of disappointment. First of all, recruiters think male candidates are more efficient than female candidates. Even if they manage to get the job, they don't get an equal salary though they do same job, sometimes more than the males.

Female people in our country are most of the time seen working in garments. Second, comes programming. As mentioned earlier, the road wasn't easy. Every time they cross a milestone, the load gets even heavier. It is like a battle royal game. The last person to survive is the winner. But, when the game isn't equal how on the earth you are going to win? Surviving in a place like this where danger awaits in every step, courage is the most important weapon.

My grandfather and grandmother died way before I was born. Once I asked my uncle what their(grandfather, grandmother) name was. My uncle said the name of my grandfather. I then asked for the name of my grandmother. He said, "You don't need to know. It won't help you anywhere." I was too young back then to understand. But now I do. No, I am blaming the men for this kind of behavior. Who I blame then? The society which determined where civilization is going. Throughout the year our mindset has changed, I agree. But deep down, disrespect to women still lives. It is like a prisoner. Locked inside a cage. If it finds the door open, I will run out without thinking anything.

Top comments (0)