DEV Community

Marc Dougherty
Marc Dougherty

Posted on • Updated on

Elgato keylight wifi setup workaround

I recently purchased an Elgato Keylight Air, and had some trouble with the
setup. This article documents the process I went through to get it set up.

The problem

The problem I had was during setup, when my wifi network did not appear in
Elgato's Android app (though i believe this problem also applies to other setup methods).

My wifi network is dual-band, meaning it is broadcasing on both the 2.4Ghz
spectrum (which the keylight supports), and the 5Ghz spectrum (which the
keylight does not support). It does this using the same network information on
both networks, and steers clients toward the best frequency for their needs.

It seems that Elgato's app is removing from the setup list any network that
has a 5Ghz component, so I could not select my wifi network from the dropdown in
the app, even though it also uses the 2.4Ghz spectrum.

The workaround

The workaround was a simple bait-and-switch.

  1. First, I powered off my main wifi network.

  2. Using my phone's hotspot function, I created a new wifi network using the
    same network name and password as my main wifi network.

  3. Using the Elgato app at this point, I was able to configure the keylight with
    the network name and password, and it successfully connected to the phone
    wifi hotspot.

  4. Power off the keylight, disable the phone hotspot, and restart the main wifi
    access point.

At this point, the keylight is able to join the main wifi network, because it is
configured with the correct network name and password.

This little workaround is rather annoying, and took me quite a while to figure
out, but now that it is configured on the network, the keylight is working well
for me!

Top comments (0)