DEV Community

Cover image for Compiler in C not Rust | Mufi Lang
Mustafif
Mustafif

Posted on

Compiler in C not Rust | Mufi Lang

I haven't written in a while mostly because I've been busy, and spent my free time writing Mufi-Lang.

I spent some time trying to figure out what language to write the byte code compiler in, and I felt the biggest fun would be writing it in C. One reason, I don't have much projects in C, two, I learned how to write a compiler in C, and three, why the hell not?

Don't think I tried Rust, I really did, but too keep originality in my code, sticking with just standard library, I felt C was my shining knight. Now in no way am I saying C is a better choice, or Rust is one, I'm giving the lazy reasons of why I chose one over the other, and these reasons are based upon comfort.

I have a lot of plans for Mufi, I plan to first release in Unix systems using a Python setup script, and I'll have to figure out things like Winget, Snap and such. I will also write documentation in markdown to get started, probably have a simple website on it.

In 0.1.0 I do not anticipate of having any type of import system, and instead you'll just have to rely on the standard library that will mainly have file operations, math functions and such.

This language will grow gradually, and I do want to get contributors to expand it's capability. I know it's not going to go big, but just writing it is an euphoria.

The first release Baloo will be expected to release in the next month or two, and after that updates will come in a release cycle.

Check out the repo to see more of the project.

Top comments (0)