DEV Community

Cover image for Why I'm Not A CS Major
Mustafif
Mustafif

Posted on

Why I'm Not A CS Major

If you did not know, I am majoring in Financial Mathematics because I love Computer Science; Mathematics is still my core. Here is how choosing a major went:

  • I want to study Math, some finance, and computer science

Sounds like quite a bunch, any program like that?

Well, Financial Mathematics covers 2/3 of this, Computer Science covers only one, so the choice seemed straightforward, right? Well, that's a simple way of looking at it; what made me choose Financial Math compared to Comp Sci is because I can learn Comp Sci at any point or minor in it.

Compared to Financial Math, Comp Sci will be easier for me to learn on my own, and as I said before, I can minor in it.

My tip when choosing a major is to do your research, look at the jobs, look at your passion, and look at what each University's program offers, I managed to get my top choice early, and I love it (for the most part).

The neat thing about learning is the euphoria you feel when learning new material you're interested in, Math made me feel that way, and that's what ultimately made my choice; I either shout at my integrals or my compiler.

Top comments (0)