DEV Community

Nadia
Nadia

Posted on

Navigating the Learning Journey: Tips for Junior Developers in React and JavaScript

Hello fellow developers πŸ‘©β€πŸ’» πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’»

πŸ™‹β€β™€οΈ I would love to share my recent experiences with you all, as I believe they may be helpful to other junior developers like myself.
After I completed my E-commerce project I came across with new React hooks and other data that I never encountered before. So I said to myself that I wouldn't proceed with any complex project yet till I fully understood those new concepts.
πŸ‘©β€πŸ« So, I prioritized revisiting and refreshing my understanding of some JavaScript fundamentals. A fantastic resource for refreshing JavaScript fundamentals is freeCodeCamp, which is my favorite website for learning. Not only is it completely free, but I also appreciate their approach to learning how to code. It's not just about watching tutorials and coding along; it's about actively engaging your mind and writing the code yourself. So it is a great practice to understand fully what you are coding and how it works!

πŸ‘©β€πŸ”¬ After I did 3 projects on freeCodeCamp (You can do as many as you want) and refreshed what I wanted to do, I dove into directly to React, which is my main focus and priority. For React, I opted for Coursera, which offers free enrollment in courses with the option to upgrade for certificates or additional resources. I am currently on the free version, which is still highly beneficial. l. The course I am currently doing is called: React Basis by Meta. It provides you with lots of theories and examples, something that I was actively searching for. However, theory alone isn't sufficient. It's essential to supplement learning with practical exercises or projects based on the acquired knowledge. So I am practicing with small apps, such as to-do lists, counters, etc.

πŸ™ One crucial aspect I discovered during my self-taught journey, which may also benefit you:

It is the method of learning. Initially, I attempted to learn as rapidly as possible, rushing through videos and assignments for 8-9 hours a day(sometimes more) with minimal breaks. This approach resulted in two significant issues: burnout and a not solid comprehension of hard concepts.

So I addressed this by making 2 crucial changes:

1)✍I balance my time between studying, relaxing, and coding by having a fixed schedule. I use the Pomodoro method (usually 50/10), and i am actively taking notes by hand. When I need to save code examples, I use Evernote.
2) πŸ‹β€β™€οΈ It's imperative to allow your mind and body to rest. Many times, I ignored the need for breaks or other leisure activities. However, engaging in activities you enjoy, whether exercising, playing a video game, or reading a book.. trust me, it makes a significant difference.

So, if you ever feel stuck or struggle to understand certain concepts, know that you're not alone. Coding isn't always straightforward; it requires time, effort, and consistent practice. But above all, prioritize your well-being and maintain good health.

Happy Coding ❀️

Top comments (0)