DEV Community

Cover image for Pursuing Clear Communication
A Pile of Loose Bricks
A Pile of Loose Bricks

Posted on

Pursuing Clear Communication

I will be the first to admit that deciding to make a mid-life career change isn’t an easy choice. Some people take a lot of time to research all the different potential careers they could switch to. Others jump in without looking, while some fall into a new path without even planning for it. When I first realized I wanted to make a career switch, I was a planner. I spent months internally debating what direction to take, flip-flopping on what I wanted to do. Each option felt like both an exciting possibility and a potential risk, but I soon realized that making the change wouldn’t just be about choosing a new direction—it would also be about how I communicated that decision to those closest to me.

Before I could fully dive into changing my career path, I knew I needed to have an open and honest conversation with my significant other about how this decision would impact our lives. I wasn’t exactly nervous, but I wanted to make sure I conveyed my thoughts clearly so we could collaborate on this life change. To prepare, I wrote down my thoughts to start organizing my reasons and concerns. I also did some research on potential career paths and tried to gauge what their realistic outcomes would be.

Thankfully, they were very supportive of my decision. We talked through the various options together and addressed any concerns that either of us had. Instead of it feeling like a solo journey, it became a shared conversation about our future together. It wasn’t easy at first trying to balance my day job, family commitments, and exploring new paths, but it was a necessary step to discover if this was truly what I wanted.

Looking back, making a career change in mid-life was far from simple, but it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It taught me that it’s never too late to redefine yourself, as long as you’re willing to embrace the uncertainty and do the necessary work. It also taught me that I don’t need to do it all myself and that I can rely on the help of those close to me to be able to reach new goals. My advice to anyone standing on the edge of a similar decision? Don’t be afraid to take the leap, but take it with a plan, and include those closest to you in your decision.

Top comments (0)