DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

Release 0.4 - Results

Hi everyone,

This week I completed the issues as described in my previous posts here and here.

To recap the issues:

  1. generate a favicon.ico for our apps
    This issue looks to update the favicon logo to match the current logo that they are using. My PR.

  2. chore: create script for updating RELEASE.md before PR
    This issue looks to update any RELEASE.md files when a developer changes a package. The script will ask the developer what is the scope of the PR they are making and what changes they made to a package and write to the appropriate RELEASE.md file. My PR.

Last week I completed the first issue and this week I completed the second issue. I think I paced myself well enough considering all the other work I had to do (and that it's finals week). I really liked the fact that I worked on this repo for a while now (since Hacktoberfest) and that I got to meet some really cool and helpful people from the repo.

The second issue I worked on was a little more open ended. To start, I created a script that asked the contributor what package they changed, what type of PR they were making (patch, minor, or major), and the description of changes they made. This information would then be used to update the corresponding RELEASE.md file for that package with the correct incremented version. I submitted a PR and received some feedback regarding the code. Also, I was asked to remove the versioning because of PR's may not be the same as releases. After updating my code, my PR was good to go.

Top comments (0)