DEV Community

Nelson Figueroa
Nelson Figueroa

Posted on • Originally published at nelson.cloud on

I Am So Sick of Leetcode-Style Interviews

I quit my previous job at Robinhood in late November of 2023 mainly for health reasons. I've been in various interviews since then. Things have fallen off for one reason or another but I just gotta say...I am getting so tired of Leetcode-style interviews, especially since I know they don't reflect the actual responsibilities of software engineering.

It seems like most (if not all) companies do these kinds of interviews simply because that's what all the big companies do, like Google, Facebook/Meta, Amazon, and so on.

I've had very bright engineers tell me that I shouldn't memorize things that I can easily Google. But yet, these interviews quiz me on things that I can easily Google but I may not know off the top of my head. It's absurd.

I don't really have a solution to this problem, I just know it's a problem.

And I'm sick of it.

If you need a Software Engineer with AWS, Kuberentes, and Ruby on Rails experience, and you don't do silly quizzes, feel free to reach out!


Discussion over at Hacker News

Top comments (0)