DEV Community

Hung Nguyen
Hung Nguyen

Posted on

Another journey to open-source world

OSD700

That is the name of the course that I am taking this semester. It will mainly focus on open-source just like OSD600, but I will need to put more effort on contributing to projects. Also, OSD700 will focus on Telescope a lot. For those who do not know about Telescope, it is an open source web server and client application that show a timeline of Seneca's open source blogs. It is a combination of different features from front-end to back-end so everyone can choose their own areas of interest to contribute to.

My Goal

My first goal is to understand Telescope in more depth, especially the front-end. Telescope has React which is the JavaScript framework that I like the most. Moreover, TypeScript is something that I would love to learn. Docker is popular at the moment and many companies use it to ship their projects. And luckily, Telescope is also using Docker to run its services. This is a good chance for me to understand it in more detail. For now, all I did was installing it in my PC to run Telescope services. Last but not least, this is project of a community, so most of the time, you have to read and understand the code of other developers. This is awesome since it can be a good example of working at a company, on a software that has been developing by many developers. It is quite a bit challenging but I feel excited and ready.

Progress

So far I have picked an issue in Telescope. If there is no current build, it will display an error message to the browser and it is not a good practice. My job is to show the previous build instead so the terminal will not be empty and the error message should be gone or replaced with a better UI. At the moment, I already had everything set up for Telescope, but I am still finding the way to understand the build log in local. It would be hard to test since I need to put some code for the build log to run. Not only that, I have still not found the /status which was the route to show current ,previous, and processing build logs. The code said it was at port 4000/status but when I ran everything locally, port 4000 was not found and with the Docker service, it was related to Firebase instead.

Top comments (0)