DEV Community

Cover image for Solving problems with event streaming
Nick
Nick

Posted on

Solving problems with event streaming

The rise of micro and nano services (serverless) ultimately means that more components need to be connected.
While we can achieve this over APIs, RPC, etc., this also means close coupling of components. A change to one service can cause ripples of subsequent changes.
I like to think that with events, everything is more free and flexible.

Any service can start sending and listening to events.
It is more of a plug and play approach, simple and easy.
It makes your services more flexible and robust.
I've been using the event streaming first mindset for some years now and it has made my life so much easier.

I chose to use Apache Kafka, but the event streaming ecosystem is growing with other players like Pulsar, Redpanda, etc.

I talk about this in more detail in my blog post with Aiven: https://aiven.io/blog/solving-problems-with-event-streaming

Top comments (0)