DEV Community

nipa-it
nipa-it

Posted on

Open Source: to publish or not to publish my android app?

Dear friends,

some time ago I developed an android app based on a cloud service on my hosting where I store private information about the user (like email, drugs, name, weight...).

The app has few active users so far, I'm not updating it anymore because I lost my interest in my baby (yes, seeing it didn't flight made me loosing interest in develop) but it's really well done and well structure I would said.

The problem is that I'm not a professional dev and I know quite for sure it has important security falls all around the code (both in the app and in the server).

I was thinking of making it available on GitHub the source code of the Android version (the server version would be extremely dangerous I guess) but this would reveal how the server side works (more or less) and reveal eventually security falls...

I guess this would make a bit of advertisement on my app (I guess it's the only type of app going open source), but I'm quite worried actually on how it could go.

In the worse of cases I would need to shut down the service and set offline the app once forever, but it's a kind of my baby and to know it is still available makes me a kind of "satisfied" about my "baby".

What would you do guys? I know you will scream for "make it open source as soon as possible!", but I'm concerned about the points I wrote.

Thank you for arriving till this point reading :)

Top comments (0)