DEV Community

nj145
nj145

Posted on

5 Ways to improve productivity and focus as a developer

As a developer, you're no stranger to those moments when you're staring at your screen, trying to get work done, but the productivity fairy just won't sprinkle her magic dust on you.
I've faced this myself a lot of times in my career and with several tried and tested methods I feel that I have got some control over the situation now. So, I would like to share a few tips here that has helped me personally to stay focused and improve my productivity over the past several years.

  • Planning

This might sound uncool or boring, but this is the key. Make a to-do list.
The first thing I do when I start my day at work is make a to-do list. I write down every single thing I want to accomplish, weather it's a coding task or following up on certain topic with a co-worker or replying to that email which you have been putting off for a while now.
As you get done with each of these tasks you get a sense of accomplishment and that'll help you keep motivated to check off the remainder of your tasks.

  • Avoid multi-tasking

Do you ever feel like you're juggling five different tasks at once, and they all come crashing down on your head? I've been there too. What has helped me there is to focus on one thing at a time and give it all your attention. This is where the to-do list you created in Step 1. can help you prioritize your tasks. Once you do that, you'll be amazed at how much faster you'll complete your tasks without the stress of trying to do everything at once.

  • Take breaks

Have you ever noticed that the longer you work without a break, the less productive you become? It's science! Take a quick break every hour to stretch your legs, grab a snack, or do a quick walk. You'll come back feeling refreshed and ready to take on the world (or at least your coding tasks). But... beware..do not get carried away during this break by endless scrolling through Instagram or Tiktok, or else before you realize your brain would've consumed a ton of unwanted junk that will further keep your focus away from your task. I learned this the hard way. Finally, with some practice now I'm at a point where I can stop myself from being pulled into the social media loop before it's too late!

  • Keep your workspace organized like a neat freak

Clutter and chaos are productivity killers. Keep your workspace organized and tidy so you can focus on what really matters – coding like a boss! Plus, you'll feel like a superhero when you can find that one file or note you need in seconds. I've certainly seen a huge difference in the way I function (especially when working from home) when I sit at my work desk vs when I'm on the couch. I tend to be more focused and productive when I'm at my desk with very little distractions.

  • Learn new skills like a kid in a candy store

Learning new things is like getting an extra life in a video game. Take advantage of all the amazing resources out there, like online courses, forums, and YouTube tutorials. You can take breaks in between your coding tasks to shift focus to learn something new that can probably open you up to some new ideas which in turn can help you with your current task.

I'd love to hear from you as to what are some of your favorite tips and tricks to improve productivity and stay focused in your daily coding routine.. :)

Top comments (0)