DEV Community

Nomanoff
Nomanoff

Posted on

Emoji Inside Markdown?

When I was looking for emoji short-codes for markdown e.g. smiley 😃 , I found some emoji cheat-sheets that were not searchable and easy to use. You would have to scroll through an entire page, select the code text with the cursor and then copy to use it inside markdowns. Too much work, right?.

Why can't I have a single-page website just to search and copy emojis? So, a brother of mine suggested: Why don't you yourself make a small website just for these shortcodes which should be simple, searchable, and easy to copy-paste anywhere?

I took his advice seriously and built this open-source website called emojis.ninja with React.js which got a lot of upvotes on react.js community. Here you can Search and Copy any emoji short-code with just One CLICK and use anywhere inside Markdown environments.

Bookmark it and feel free to contribute here: Project repo

Thanks for reading!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
ashishk1331 profile image
Ashish Khare😎

Nice. Clean and super interesting. Only it starts to make query after each character strike, it would please me if you teach it to pause while the user is typing or there is a incoming text stream. Kinda side home work, if you'll allow. 😀

Collapse
 
nomanoff_tech profile image
Nomanoff

Thanks for the feedback. I was also not happy with my search engine. We will work on that.

Collapse
 
ashishk1331 profile image
Ashish Khare😎 • Edited

Great. You're already half way there because your eye know the dirt. Great champ! Keep making such tools. I myself constructed a site which helps me make color pallets. Though it strongly needs renovation and polishing.
hugekontrast.github.io/Colors/#

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

A while ago, built this website; but it was actually to test my query language.

Collapse
 
ashishk1331 profile image
Ashish Khare😎

Flex. Nice site setup.👍

Collapse
 
nomanoff_tech profile image
Nomanoff

Great. I like it.

Collapse
 
mantassidabras profile image
MantasSidabras

Imho, it’s a bit of an overkill to build a site for that. This could be simply done on OS level using simple shell script and context menu application like dmenu or rofi. I bind mine on f4 and it brings me searchable context menu on the screen, therefore I have instant access to any emoji in any application.