DEV Community

Cover image for Great fun with Deno - My First Deno Framework
Ribhararnus Pracutian
Ribhararnus Pracutian

Posted on

Great fun with Deno - My First Deno Framework

We're already heard that Deno release its first major version (v1.0) about several weeks ago, and it was shakes JS world, little bit.

If you read this post, and you're new in JS (or maybe Node), I suggests you to learn TypeScript first, before you try develop something with Deno. But, it doesn't matter after all, Deno is both Javascript and TypeScript runtime, so don't worry.

My reaction when I heard about Deno incoming release, was the same like other JS developer. I called it adage in JS world, "Here we go again, there will be a new Framework or Library every day, even, it's every seconds now."

I've already tried and playing with Deno in 2018 - early-to-mid 2019, but it's not stable yet. After they release v1.0, I tried it again, and praising-word came from my mouth, "Hey, it's really fun, some feature and bug have been fixed."

Although it's just a beginning, and Deno is not ready yet for production-ready application. I believe Deno will be huge someday just like Node. Ryan Dahl, the creator of both, Node and Deno is visionary after all. I trust him and the OSS community behind Deno.

If you're Go programmer, you may notice that Deno has similar dependencies mechanism. You don't need to install dependencies, instead you import it directly with http/https protocol, and later it will be cached in specified directory.

What I like about Deno

  • You don't need Package Manager (NPM / Yarn).
  • You don't need to install TypeScript.
  • Smaller executable size than Node.
  • You can import files anywhere (via HTTP protocol or file protocol easily)

🦖 Jurassic

While I'm learn how Deno works, async-await, dynamic import and Deno file system, I accidentally created this framework. I called it Jurassic.

Yup, that's my framework name. A geological period where dinosaurs live. I describe this framework as "A Straightforward REST API Framework".

Is it another JS Framework? yes it is, and hmmm no.

Okay, I admit it, it was another saturated JS framework, but, I really working on this framework just for fun, don't judge me.

But, it also different from any other frameworks out there (for now).

Jurassic is a simple REST Framework server, you don't need a setup (still, you can create custom config). Jurassic have magic part which other framework doesn't have.

The Magic Part

I'm NextJS developer and I really inspired with NextJS Dynamic Routes, so I adopts it in Jurassic.

In my view, builds a REST API server should be easy, instant and should have zero config. We don't need anything, it's should be straightforward. What we need is simple, we need how to manages route, handling a request and give a response to client.

That's why we don't need to setup a config or boot file. Just start a REST API server and done.

In Jurassic Framework you should have a routes directory. Where is router definition? use file name as router, and thats it.

<your_directory>
|__ routes
|____ hello.ts
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Done. Now run this in <your_directory>:

deno run --allow-read --allow-net --allow-env https://deno.land/x/jurassic/server.ts
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Access from your favourite Browser:

http://localhost:8888/hello
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

It's simple and Straightforward.

Dynamic Router Params

As I said before, I really like NextJS approach with their Dynamic Routes.

When you have file name with in-bracket variable like this:

[param].ts

## or
posts/[postId].ts

## or
post-[id]-by-[author].ts
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

you can call it dynamic params, and you can access those params in route handler like this:

// console.log(req.params.[yourParamName])

// e.g
// filename: [postId].ts
console.log(req.params.postId)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Fun, right?

There is so much room to improve within this framework, such as middleware, hooks, plugins, and other framework features that I don't have it yet. Remember, I created Jurassic Framework just for fun 😉, when I learn Deno weeks ago, don't expects much from me.

If you're interested with Jurassic Framework, you can see more example and play with it in my repo below. Submit a PR to my repo, that's how OSS community works.

🔗 Link and Repo

🦕 Deno Std
https://deno.land/x/jurassic

👉 Github Repo
https://github.com/oknoorap/jurassic

🎉 Example Codes
https://github.com/oknoorap/jurassic/tree/develop/examples

👨🏻‍💻 Next Framework

With Deno I can do almost anything, I can do what I can't do with Node. I codes faster with Deno. I don't need any tooling, any dependencies, and of course I don't need Microsoft NPM registry account. I can serve / import my script or codes anywhere.

So, next time, I want to create a Game Engine Framework based on Phaser + TypeScript which will have magic element like Jurassic.

I think I'm not or one of Rockstar Developer, but if you're interested and wanna join with me building something fun, you can drop me a message via twitter @oknoorap.

Thank you. 🥳

Top comments (27)

Collapse
 
rezende79 profile image
Marcos Rezende

Despite your knowledge about NextJS, you have some issues with the English language. If you study a little bit more about prepositions 'with' and 'by' and the use of third-person, you will write better. Keep studying. Congratulations!

Collapse
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

Thanks, english is not my primary language.

Collapse
 
amaroks profile image
Mody Said

Your English is great, thank you!

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

What build tools do you use for the frontend? Do you consider non-Node.js based, like esbuild, or do you use traditional ones?

Collapse
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

Deno support TypeScript and I believe Deno already has bundler tooling, your source code will be compiled as ES, you can read about Deno bundler here deno.land/manual/tools/bundler

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

You don't minify, or build nomodule?

Thread Thread
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

I don't think TypeScript (or Deno) can compile codes into minify version 😁, but we can do that later using terser or TypeScript plugin or similar tool. That's what I know, maybe someone knows better than me ✌️

Thread Thread
 
swapnil0545 profile image
Swapnil Mhaske👨‍💻🎮☕🌄

But why to minify the backend code?

Thread Thread
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

I agree with you, with Deno we can run our code faster enough on the server, even we're not bundling it.

Thread Thread
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

Yes, I was referring to frontend code, with problems of

  • Bundle size and data usage on the clients
  • caniuse.com/ i.e. browser support

I almost never minify backend code. Just mere tsc. Not even Babel. Never that big compared to node_modules anyway.

node_modules is heavy.

Thread Thread
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

Thats why Deno is the big rescue here 😁, we don't need node_modules anymore.

Thread Thread
 
michaelcurrin profile image
Michael Currin

There's an open issue for this.

github.com/denoland/deno/issues/6900

Recommended alternative by a commenter:

$ deno bundle https://deno.land/std@0.79.0/http/file_server.ts | esbuild --minify > file_server.min.js
$ deno run --allow-net --allow-read file_server.min.js
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
ekafyi profile image
Eka • Edited

Quick silly question from someone with 0 Deno knowledge: how does one connect this (or any generic Deno app) to any kind of UI/view library?

Collapse
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian • Edited

Good question, My framework is with specific purpose, it's to build a quick REST API server, so I don't have any plan to add any views or renderer functionality, but still you can set content type as text/html in router response.

Collapse
 
turbopasi profile image
Pascal Lamers

I'm curious about Deno as well as most others in this community. However, some of your statements got me thinking:

  • You don't need dependencies in Deno ? You don't need dependencies in NodeJs either .
  • What is there that you can't do in NodeJs, but with Deno ?

I am relatively new to coding (< 5 years) and reading things like that are easily misinterpreted. Try giving examples to underline those statements.

Other than that, good read ! Jurassic sounds awesome !

Collapse
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

of course we need dependencies but no need to install it, you can import directly from URL 😀

Collapse
 
turbopasi profile image
Pascal Lamers

That's very true !

Collapse
 
michaelcurrin profile image
Michael Currin

Is your Jurassic package still available on Denoland?

Broken link in article and GH repo - deno.land/x/jurassic -> 404 Not Found

Collapse
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

Sorry 🙏 I'm not updating jurassic registry with the new database but you can clone or even fork my git. 🧑🏽‍💻

Collapse
 
michaelcurrin profile image
Michael Currin

Okay thanks.

I am using oak and abc as those are popular server packages.

Thread Thread
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

yeah oak / abc is the most popular framework in deno, anyway I'm treating jurassic just for my playground when I'm bored, but maybe next time I'll adding new feature, like instant GQL API and web socket API, and so on, also I will add jurassic to the new deno's registry.

But, thanks for trying my framework and playing with it, I appreciated it.

 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

I think the difference is Java can be compiled, scripting language can't be compiled, need JIT and runtime.

 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

yes you're correct 👍, scripting languange can't be compiled into bytecode.

Collapse
 
etienneburdet profile image
Etienne Burdet • Edited

You can serve a UI with a templating engine and web server, like: github.com/NMathar/deno-express

Collapse
 
vlasterx profile image
Vladimir Jovanović

What can you do with Deno that you can't do with Node?

Collapse
 
edinhadzovic profile image
edinhadzovic

can someone post some great open source projects build with deno ?

Collapse
 
oknoorap profile image
Ribhararnus Pracutian

It's still early, let's wait next three or six month later. But actually, every npm pkg can be imported via pika or jspm.