DEV Community

Ondrej Sevcik
Ondrej Sevcik

Posted on • Originally published at ondrejsevcik.com

The Reason Why I Don’t Use Gmail as My Primary Email Anymore

It’s been 2 years since I realized that my whole online presence is built around Google.

It’s very convenient to build your whole life around Google Services - Gmail, Drive, Contacts, Photos, YouTube, save Passwords to Chrome, Login with Google, … the list goes on and on. Google services are free, easy to use, and they all work well together.

Your account has been suspended

The problem is that each service on Google has its own Terms & Conditions, and it’s not that uncommon to get your account suspended because you “breached something somewhere”.

Once you get suspended, you basically stop existing online, and you lose access to all your data. Everything. Gone. Immediately. And Google has no obligation to talk to you. After all, it’s free.

Centralizing all our online being into the hands of a single giant is not the best idea.

I did not like the idea of that. Not having an access to my email and my passwords could be existential.

People posting on Twitter about being suspended

There are many stories out there where people got locked out.

Portability is freedom

My email is now on my own domain, hosted at Fastmail. I’m using 1Passwords for logins and passkeys. I use Firefox for bookmark sync. And I never use social logins.

I pay for all of these services. It costs me around 12$ a month and it’s totally worth it. I feel good about supporting more independent internet, plus paying for service has so many other benefits (like a support that actually talks to you, better privacy, loads faster, and so on).

The point is not to avoid Google at all costs, but to minimize the impact of being suspended. If I would simply switch to Apple or Microsoft, it would be the same problem. The internet is meant to be decentralized.

I still use YouTube and Google Maps. But they are just yet another service I use. If I would get suspended, it would not be a big deal anymore.

If you’re in the same position as I was 2 years ago, now is the best time to reconsider your online being.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
maxfindel profile image
Max F. Findel • Edited

Totally agree. I don't like being at the mercy of merciless tech giants 🤷 I've been avoiding hosting my own email because it can be too fragile (I'm I'm too lazy), so I'll stick with Proton for now 😄

Collapse
 
ondrejsevcik profile image
Ondrej Sevcik

Proton is a good choice. I used to have my email there for a moment, but then I decided that I want to own my online identity.

Why do you think it's too fragile to have your email on your own domain?