DEV Community

Idiakose O. Sunday
Idiakose O. Sunday

Posted on

2020 in review

Well, I've always wanted to write a year in review. In 2016 I tried writing one, only to grow cold feet and crumble under the weight of my disappointment.

Right, 2020 (writing this 14 January 2021), and after reading this I've decided to go for it.

Income

I did some number crunching, and it would seem there's been a x3 increase (300% for the large number folks_) from year start 2020. During the lockdown and the early days of the pandemic, I actually got small pay bumps. With the naira going up and down (more on this later), it's a bit difficult to actually peg this.

Self Development and Career Growth

Well, I finally wrote production (beta) ready dotnet code with c#. I failed at picking up c# years back. So this is a very big personal achievement for me. I'm having to improve the idiomatic nature of the code, haven written javascript for so long, having to conform to standards takes some getting used to. I want to say a big thank you to Diran here, shoutout to Endurance & Godson also.

In the early parts of 2020, I was working on some legacy code, that pushed me to the brink mentally and otherwise. I'm grateful, I got some feel-good out of it, as the joy when we finally made it work felt really good. A kind of coming of age for me.

I'm not enthused by my day job anymore, every waking day is a struggle to face the laptop, open vs code and work. I think there are lots of reasons for this.

  • A culmination of 2020, it felt choking at some point
  • Thanks to the pandemic and guidelines, outdoor recreation became really hard to come by.
  • I'm not just interested in writing front-end code anymore.

In 2021, I hope to work on more interesting, challenging stuff. Know anyone hiring for interesting backend focused roles with dotnet core, node js, (and go) stack? Hit me up. Github Resume

Work-Life balance

In the mud.

It did get a bit better, I like writing code, I may as well get paid for it.

Education

Thanks to ASUU and the FG, no new feather to my cap (just) yet

General Life Stuff

Well, I did not gain significant weight.
I moved to my place between November and December.
Made some new friends,
Stepped out to some familial responsibility and thankfully we closed out 2020 well, despite some health challenges, and even completed some lingering projects.

The naira had me in my feels and depressed for most parts of the year (till the third quarter). Really bad watching your income decrease by 20 - 30 per cent, even worse considering I was getting raises.

I hope to write some technical stuff this year, this was a good way to get the monkey off my back. Thanks

Top comments (0)