DEV Community

oOosys
oOosys

Posted on

Reporting abuse not possible ...

In order to keep my Internet download volume below the monthly threshold I have switched off displaying of images on DEV pages as my experience up to now was that the vast majority of them does not provide content worth to be looked at anyway.

Now I detected comments promoting sites with sexual content and wanted to report them ... but ... the abuser does not need to proof himself to be a human by solving a captcha, ... but me trying to report on abuse can't because it requires it and with switched off displaying of images this becomes impossible.

In other words robots are free to write articles and comments, but reporting the abuse requires higher effort than creating it in first place.

Considering the high level of spam here on DEV isn't there something wrong with the DEV philosophy how spam and abuse is handled making it easy to abuse, but hard to impossible to report about it???

Top comments (0)