DEV Community

Cover image for Working Under Pressure 🤯
Oscar Lopez
Oscar Lopez

Posted on • Originally published at oscarlp6.dev

Working Under Pressure 🤯

🤯 I Don't Like Working Under Pressure

As a remote developer in a company with a strong culture, I must admit that over time, I have lost the taste for working under pressure. I remember in my previous job, pressure was the norm, with tight deadlines and projects deviating completely from estimations. A stark contrast to how I handle things now.

In my early days of crafting my resume, I used to take pride in being able to work under pressure, and yes, I am... well, effective in the sense that I might not do my best work under pressure, but at least I get the tasks done. Back then, I considered working under pressure a virtue, and to some extent, I still do. However, my relationship with this type of work environment has changed significantly. Currently, I greatly value the incredible and passionate experience of working without the weight of pressure, allowing me to engage calmly and passionately in my tasks and thus achieve my best possible work.

In my current job, the norm is to work calmly, with quite reasonable deadlines and smooth communication to overcome any obstacles. However, due to a special project, in the past few weeks, I've been forced to return to working under pressure. The task was to finish everything within a short timeframe because the client was eager to test the functionality. And I confess, I hate it. I know it's inevitable in the job, but I believe my perception that it's desirable because it's exciting has changed.

These days, I much prefer having all the time I need to conduct my analysis calmly, review each step of the implementation without rushing to meet client expectations and beat the clock.

🤔 Conclusion

In retrospect, my professional evolution has led me to reconsider the importance of working under pressure. Although it may have its exciting moments, I now value the quality and meticulous attention I can give to each task when not constrained by time pressure. It's a lesson that has transformed my work perspective and makes me question whether I should really include "ability to work under pressure" on my resume. The true skill lies in the ability to deliver exceptional performance even when there isn't a clock ticking every second.

Top comments (0)