DEV Community

Oscar Ore
Oscar Ore

Posted on

React/Redux Final Project

The final project. After months of learning the benefits of React and Redux, it was time to build out my final project! Throughout my planning process, I wanted to create an app that met all of the requirements but also would allow me to add on different features as I grow my coding knowledge. A couple of project ideas came to mind, but at the end of the day, I decided to create a workout planning app call Workout Planner.

The concept is that the user would enter their workout for the day and they could collaborate with other users and help keep each other accountable. This project is still a work in progress, due to the fact that there are so many features that I would like to add on as well.

  • The project requirements were as followed:
  • There should be 5 stateless components
  • There should be 3 routes -The Application must make use of react-router and proper RESTful routing.
  • Use Redux middleware to respond to and modify state change
  • Make use of async actions and redux-thunk middleware to send data to and receive data from a server
  • Your Rails API should handle the data persistence with a database. You should be using fetch() within your actions to GET and POST data from your API - do not use jQuery methods.

Once I completed the backend solution of my project it was now time to focus on FrontEnd.

What I took away from the project overall was how React moved information throughout my application, along with the help of Redux.

Here is an example of the Redux flow without Thunk:
image

This image shows you the importance of Redux within an application and how useful it can be with a developer is building out large apps.

Overall, the project taught me a lot and it showed me what I can do with a bit of hard work and coffee!

Top comments (0)