DEV Community

Oscar Ore
Oscar Ore

Posted on

Why do I want to become a software engineer?

My journey has been anything but traditional. I have been contemplating this decision for quite some time now. But I can tell you this, my “why” is greater than any obstacle that I may face while I embark on this journey to become a Software Engineer. I would love to pursue a passion that is fueled by curiosity, innovation and creativity, all while supporting my family. This is my “why”, but how did we get here? Let’s take a journey.

I have always been intrigued by technology. Growing up in the era of the internet, we continue to advance our lives thanks to incredible innovation. During the early years of my professional career, I was blessed with an opportunity that changed my life and that’s when my journey began. Living in Austin, TX at the time, I began my career with an IT reseller called SHI. As I grew in my professional career, I wanted a more challenging experience and I was looking to add more creativity in my everyday work activities. Working for an IT reseller, I was constantly introduced to different technologies throughout my day and speaking to many IT professionals, I enjoyed speaking with the developers of the product. They had the ability to solve a problem with lines of code. What an ability to have!

A light bulb just went off in my head. How can I wield this power? How can I create something out of nothing? This thought process led to hours of research and endless YouTube videos on how to break into the industry. After speaking with many software engineers, ranging from traditional education upbringing (Computer Science majors) to self-learners, I made my decision to attend Flatiron’s online boot camp program. Talk about an exciting transition! I am excited as we start the first week of courses. I am already surrounded by so many like-minded individuals who want to create a better opportunity for themselves and their families.

I will continue to document my journey throughout my flatiron boot camp experience to encourage, motivate, and inspire others to follow their dreams and to never doubt your capabilities!

Top comments (0)