DEV Community

Kevan Y
Kevan Y

Posted on

My turn to be Sherriff

Sheriff roles

  • Planning on Tuesday
  • Triage on Thursday
  • Assign Issue
  • Review PR
  • Make sure everyone is on track

Experience being a Sheriff

This is the first time I manage such a large group. On Tuesday, the meeting was more of an open-ended discussion about a current issue. I and Joel were leading the meeting. It was pretty hard, especially discussing a topic where I'm not familiar. I feel lost, and not worth enough to be the sheriff. This is also the first time that I'm able to speak that long. I usually spoke around 0-10 minutes in a 1-2 hours meeting. This time I spoke for the whole meeting. On Thursday, Joel was leading the triage meeting and I was taking note of all important stuff discussed during the meeting.
One thing I learned is that no one knows every part of telescope, if we don't know a part of telescope, we should know who in the call has expertise on that part. So we can directly ask for detail, such as what is this issue about, how long it will probably take...
Off meeting, we have to monitor slack and Github. Not gonna lie, it was pretty tough this week for me. I had one of my group members in PRJ that got Covid, and I was the only one in that week to implement most of the features for the frontend part. I feel this time I didn't do my job as a sheriff well enough compared to the others. But it's okay, we learn from mistakes and grow up.
Also, this was the best time to practice my English skill for speaking part.

Some of the issues I'm working
Issue #2732 - Still ongoing, discover some limitations with Apple restriction.
Issue #2791 - Almost done, just needed to figure out why Kong container crashed.
Issue #2801 - PR in draft mode

Top comments (0)