DEV Community

Paul Strickland
Paul Strickland

Posted on • Originally published at pestrickland.co.uk

Meeting up

Recently I spent almost three hours sitting on a bench talking to a friend whilst enjoying this summer's beautiful late afternoon weather. Ordinarily, this wouldn't be a significant event to report, but this was the first time I'd sat down and talked to another person for seventeen weeks.

It was reassuring – if surprising – that it felt incredibly normal. Conversation in person. Not novel, but something that hadn't happened for a quarter of a year. Even writing that down is the most bizarre thing, and I can't think of anything else to say.

I now have one more week of work to endure before I'll see my family. I cannot wait.

I'm publishing this as part of 100 Days To Offload. You can join in yourself by visiting https://100daystooffload.com.

Top comments (0)