DEV Community

Paul Strickland
Paul Strickland

Posted on • Originally published at pestrickland.co.uk

A difficult start

Mornings these days have become very difficult. I seem to wake up very early, feeling alert at least to start with. It'll be early enough for me to comfortably get ready to start work at 6:30 on most days. The problem is that, as awake as I am, my inner state is in no way ready for work -- I simply cannot function.

I've tried to not impose a rigorous start time on my day. So being ready for the day at 6:30 could mean I go for a run, or a walk with my new camera. I could catch up on reading a book or a magazine, or do some simple work on a personal project. But I can't do any of those things, because I feel that I should be working since it is a weekday. It's not a nice situation, and I don't know what to do about it yet.

I'm publishing this as part of 100 Days To Offload. You can join in yourself by visiting https://100daystooffload.com.

Top comments (0)