DEV Community

Phuong-Cat Ngo
Phuong-Cat Ngo

Posted on

Hello, World!

If you are reading this, you have probably decided to embark on your journey of learning how to become a software developer. Congratulations! I am so happy for you. I am also doing the same thing.

Learning software development can be a huge challenge especially if you are learning from scratch. I know for myself that it feels daunting as well, but my instructors at FlatIron School gave me some good advice. Here is the rundown of what they have told me:

  1. Set realistic goals
    Take some time to think about short-term and long-term goals. Break down your bigger ones into smaller more realistic ones. Use the SMART goals to help navigate what kind of milestones you want to have. Check out this article from Asana on how to create SMART goals.

  2. Choose a programming language
    There are many programming languages to choose from with each having its pros and cons. Some popular ones include JavaScript, Python, and Java. If you want to figure out where to start, I suggest reading this article from FreeCodeCamp in 2022 to find which one you want to do. I am doing JavaScript myself.

  3. Find the right resources
    The internet is full of resources for learning software development. From YouTube videos to online courses and boot camps, there are too many to choose from sometimes. You have to find what works best for you and narrow down which ones are reputable. Some popular resources are Codeacademy, Coursera, FlatIron and FreeCodeCamp.

  4. Practice, practice, and even more practice!
    Even with all the theories and tutorials given out, it is best to learn hands-on. Grab your favorite IDE (mine is Visual Studio) or Replit and start practicing how to code. Start small and work your way up! That's how I am doing it.

  5. Join a community
    Fortunately for me, I am part of the FlatIron School community. I have classmates and peers. I am also here on Dev.To. It helps to have a community of like-minded individuals for support, networking, and resources. I recommend finding an online forum, a local meetup group, or someone on a similar journey to connect with!

Starting your journey in software development can be rewarding and challenging. With the right mindset, resources, and support, anyone can learn how to code. I am on this journey too and hope to cheer you on. We got this :)

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
julioaranajr profile image
Julio Arana Jr. • Edited

Thank you very much for yours tips.