DEV Community

Dennis
Dennis

Posted on • Originally published at linkedin.com

I Created An Application That Saved Me 2.6 Hours Each Year

Do you use automation in your day-to-day work life? Now I'm no Python developer, but I thought of developing a small application which automated a manual and repetitive task. I quickly created a small Python script which automatically fills out an online form which generates an invoices for me on submission.

Manually creating an invoice would take me around three minutes every time I do this. But with the script, all I have to do is provide the invoice number and invoice amount... and it fills out and submits the form for me. Leaving me with reviewing the .PDF invoice to make sure everything is correct. All of this done in less than five seconds.

What sort of things have you automated? Big or small?

52 Sundays in a year (the day I typically create and send my invoices...) * 3 minutes / 60 minutes = roughly 2.6 hours saved per year.

Here's a .gif that shows me running the Python console application, entering in the invoice number and amount to be paid... resulting in a invoice .pdf to review and download.
Here's a .gif that shows me running the Python console application, entering in the invoice number and amount to be paid... resulting in a invoice .pdf to review and download.

Top comments (0)