DEV Community

Pitson Josiah MWakabila
Pitson Josiah MWakabila

Posted on

NEED FOR SUPPORT TO DEVELOPERS, BASED ON MY ROUTINE

"Like many weeks, I often plan my work over the weekend and then document my timesheets on Monday soon after my arrival at work, and then I send my timesheets to my supervisor. So today has been that day for preparing and submitting them. While preparing the timesheets, I reflect on my previous one year as an intern at my host company. I also recall about the annual developer’s survey on stackoverflow, git, and other platforms for developers.

Then it comes to my mind that I have to refactor the code for one of our client’s application and then integrate the application with other similar applications. So thinking through that, I realize that I am the only developer for that task; I’m the product manager, security analyst, code analyser, system analyst, Database Designer, UX designer and I’ll only be required to submit the product to the supervisor and the entire team(in house, before the client) for testing.

Besides, I recall about the power of using git for version control, but what about the development ecosystems or frameworks? Moving on, I plan on carrying a code analysis and optimization on one of the application on our cpanel account. So instead of the remote analysis, I opt to launch git bash CLI and I then input the cd, git, and some artisan commands so as to start my local application and server. I also launch postman for my backend api testing and refinement.

Finally, I am found going through my UI and UX experience. I think of ReactJs, ReCharts, FlexBoxes, MaterialUI, Reactstrap, ES6. I then decide to smile, think and then I realize that I have developed an application on my own as a developer besides my supervisor and office colleagues, which is powered by ReactJs, Reactstrap mixed with MaterialUI and then ES6, but on the backend!! Mmmh! It is full of api’s in my language of choice… Hence, I am proudly sharing the following(specifically the Dashboards and some modals with validation) which are some of the work that we’re working on and in which I can see my total contribution right from the requirement gathering stage up to the hosting and maintenance stage."

That been quoted, Who knows about the next people to drive our programming world? There might be many developers who are struggling but striving for a better tomorrow in the Software Development Cycle. Besides, Programmers are ever learning and tomorrow it might not be react but something else… So we can together support them, especially the newbie, and embrace them in the development environment. My point is that software developers and all upcoming programmers requires our immediate and appropriate support in order for them to be fully independent in the software development arena.

Top comments (0)