DEV Community

Pixel Cereal
Pixel Cereal

Posted on

Help Needed with Matching 4 Walking Animations for a Top-Down Character Controller

Hey there, fellow readers! I'm seeking your expertise to help me solve a challenging problem. I'm an amateur game developer trying to match four walking animations (forward, back, and strafe left and right) for a top-down character controller. I want my character's movements to look like the ones in this example: https://sharpcoderblog.com/blog/top-down-character-controller-example.

Now, I must admit that I'm not a coding expert, but I'm willing to learn. If you can explain it to me like you would to a child, that would be awesome! Recently, I've been making progress in understanding how to read C#, but I'm struggling to comprehend the animator and blendtree concepts. As a pixel artist, this is all new to me, and I'm stuck.

I'm seeking your advice on how to drive animation conditions from the script to the animator to get the animations to play according to the player's rotation that's driven by the cursor position. I would appreciate any help you can provide. Thank you in advance!

Top comments (0)