DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button

An invitation to listen to Maintainable Software Podcast

Around a year ago, I was chatting with a good friend about an idea I had for a podcast. Over the last several years, I've learned that I've become really focused on improving existing software over building something new.

I'm not a maker. That is somewhat true, I prefer to spend more of my time improving something than making something from scratch.

The concept for the Maintainable podcast was to challenge myself with finding a diverse collection of experienced professionals from our industry--and to hear their stories about how they played a part in improving existing software.

While we, as an industry, are creating a ton of new things -- we also need to be focused on making the existing things better today than we found them yesterday. We don't need to label this as "legacy code"--it's just code.

As of today, my team has helped me publish 13 episodes (with several more on the way). I've had an opportunity to speak with people like:

  • Charity Majors of Honeycomb who thinks we need to spend more time "testing" in production.
  • Eileen M. Uchitelle of GitHub on how to tackle a large Ruby on Rails upgrade.
  • Matt Weagle, Engineering Manager at Lyft on coaching developers on how to better discuss technical debt
  • Coraline Ada Ehmke, Principal Engineer at Stitch Fix on the role of empathy in the workplace
  • Pim Elshoff a software developer at Procurious about communication tactics within technical teams
  • ...and several other people that I have learned a lot from.

Have you heard any of the episodes yet? (and find value in it?) If so, it would mean the world to me if you could take a moment to add a rating on Apple Podcasts. 😊

if you haven't, I invite you to listen to an episode or two at Maintainable.fm.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
aleksikauppila profile image
Aleksi Kauppila

Really good podcast! Good job Robby, keep 'em new episodes coming!

Collapse
 
robbyrussell profile image
Robby Russell πŸ˜πŸš‚

Appreciate the kind words, Aleksi!