DEV Community

Cover image for My Life as an Influencer
Thomas Hansen
Thomas Hansen

Posted on • Originally published at ainiro.io

My Life as an Influencer

According to Microsoft, one software developer can bring in revenue worth the equivalent of 500 "normal people". This is because one software developer creates products that are used by 500 others on average.

This is why Microsoft used to give away practically for free anything they could give away for free to software developers back in the days when most of their revenue came in through the worst software project the world has ever seen. I am of course talking about Windows in case you wonder.

Of course, now people are probably flocking to buy Windows licenses for reasons that will become painfully obvious further down in the article ðŸĪŠ

This effect is probably the reason why Steve Ballmer was so happy about his software developers back in the days. Warning, do not watch this video unless you've got strong nerves. Even for a guy like me it's highly disturbing to watch 🙈

If you believe in Microsoft's math, I've got the equivalent amount of "financial pull" as 500x10,000 people thx to my DEV account. This becomes the same as if I was a "normal influencer" with 5,000,000 followers.

Yup! I've got 10,000 software developer followers here! 😁

If you know anything about the influencer economy, this should imply I'd be making tens of millions every single year in advertisement money alone. Gotham Chess has roughly 4 million subscribers, and he's making 3 times as much as Magnus Carlsen, the chess world champion, ignoring the fact that Magnus forfeited his title because he didn't want to spend time preparing for 3 months in exchange for "lunch money". Magnus probably makes more money on his streaming initiatives than his actual chess.

Psst, we all know who's the REAL world champion Ding! Nothing personal ... 😉

I'm the WORST influencer in the world

To put the above facts into perspective, realise I've invented a programming language. I've used it for roughly 10 years myself, and in 2017 I wrote an article for Microsoft about it. The article is literally the 5th most read software development article Microsoft EVER published throughout their history as a company - Yet today, I'm still the only person on earth actually using the language.

I tried for a couple of years at AISTA to evangelize the language. I wrote hundreds of articles about it. I got some roughly 2 million page views at DZone and some roughly 250,000 page views at DEV. I showed my language to dozens of software developers, trying to convince them to use it. For a while I had two developers in Ukraine using it, both named Boghdan BTW - Of course, my investor was literally paying them to use it - So I'm not sure if it really counts ðŸĪŠ

In fact, everybody seems to do the exact opposite of what I tell them to do consistently!

But I don't despair. First of all, Hyperlambda is 100% mine - Something that became painfully obvious to "some people" a couple of months ago. The thing is literally impossible to steal from me.

More importantly, I don't care about how many people use Hyperlambda. I use it, and I become a bajillion times more productive with it, something clearly seen by our ChatGPT chatbot product, where from a feature point of view, we're decades ahead of everything, including companies such as Google and Microsoft with hundreds of software developers desperately trying to compete with me in Go, Python, C#, or Java.

In addition I'm the most productive software developer in the Island of Cyprus (2 million people) according to GitHub, by a margin of 100% - And I'm still happy coding (obviously) - So why really care ...?

Where to now?

Conclusion: I'm probably one of the top 10 most (in)-famous software developers alive today ðŸĪŠ

What should I do with all you good folks that are following me? Evangelizing Hyperlambda is obviously useless, and it doesn't bring in as much a single cent in "advertisement money". Maybe I should contact other platform vendors and charge them to speak badly about their platforms? With my "usual luck" that will probably bring in thousands of new users to their platforms? Maybe that way I could become "the professional platform basher", charging millions of dollars per year, to slaughter everybody elses code, the destroyer of egos, the manufacturer of revenue? Thoughts ...? 😂

I do play 5 different instruments. Maybe I could charge for standing on stage and singing software development songs ...? 😂

One thing is painfully obvious. What I'm doing now is not working 😂

Ideas? Before I end up like this guy ...? 😂

My Precious

Top comments (0)