DEV Community

pookiepats
pookiepats

Posted on

How to work at a slower pace to get less done less efficiently.

The Problem

You are a hard worker and you're creative and effective at what you do but... often times you find yourself rushing through your work frantically.

The sheer speed at which you can fly through your operating system is causing you to make errant mistakes.

the solution

Naturally to achieve such pace in your work, to work so blazingly fast; you're either a Windows or a Linux user - so the solution is to switch to macOS.

On macOS, you have no choice but to move slowly.

No more flying between windows, now you MUST click an inactive window once to focus the window - THEN you can interact with it.

No more quickly snapping windows into split screen mode for those impromptu prototypes of a web page, no - now you must hover the cursor for a while over a green blob in order to get the option.

The slowdown benefits are many, I could go on; but ever since I started using macOS - I have to work longer days so I better get back to it.

Recap

macOS has unlocked a whole new world of un-productivity for me. It is no mystery to me now why all the mac users I see ALWAYS use the app switcher. I guess I better fall in line. There is no hope for macOS multi-monitor support though, just don't do it.

I hope my sarcasm and suffering has brought you some element of joy (and deterred those pondering the switch - DON'T DO IT).

Farewell.

--suffering macOS / MacBookPro M2 max user

Top comments (0)